Hidden Names for Common Allergens

June 5, 2020

Here are some different names for common allergens that you need to look out for:

INGREDIENTS THAT MAY CONTAIN PEANUTS AND SHOULD BE AVOIDED BY PEOPLE WITH A PEANUT ALLERGY: artificial nuts, arachis oil, hydrolyzed protein, beer nuts, peanut oil, ground nuts, nut meat, nougat, marzipan, mani, Valencias, kernel paste, and mandelonas.

Those with an egg allergy should be very cautious because egg protein can be found in vaccines, baked goods, and other foods. PRODUCTS THAT CONTAIN ANY OF THESE INGREDIENTS SHOULD BE AVOIDED BY THOSE WITH AN EGG ALLERGY: albumin, lysozyme, mayonnaise, meringue, vitellin, ovo, ovalbumin, surimi, silici-albuminate, and livetin.

PEOPLE WITH A MILK ALLERGY SHOULD AVOID FOODS CONTAINING ANY OF THESE INGREDIENTS: casein, curds, custard, diacetyl, lactalbumin, tagatose, whey, hydrolyzed casein, lactoferrin, and dental supplements such as Recaldent.

SOY IS FOUND IN MANY ASIAN AND VEGETARIAN DISHES, AND PEOPLE WITH A SOY ALLERGY SHOULD AVOID THESE INGREDIENTS: edamame, miso, natto, shoyu, soya, tamari, edamame,, soy protein, mono-diglyceride, garbanzo beans,vegetable protein, and tofu

HIDDEN NAMES FOR GLUTEN INCLUDE: food starches, rye, graham flour, emmer, barley, malt, spelt, and farro.

badge-apple.png
badge-android.png

JOIN US!

The content on this website and the ALAN mobile app ("ALAN Services") are intended for educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek advice from a qualified healthcare provider regarding any medical concerns. 

If you think that you have a medical emergency, call your doctor or 911 immediately. Reliance on any information provided by the ALAN Services is solely at your own risk. 

© 2020 The Alan App LLC 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram